Websites - is it worth having one?
Thread poster: Sonia Rowland
Sonia Rowland
Sonia Rowland
Local time: 14:40
German to English
+ ...
Jul 7, 2001

Just starting out as a freelance translator, I was considering having a website to \'broaden my exposure\'. If I advertise in the yellow pages and call myself something like \'AA Translations\', I can be fairly certain to be close to the top of the page. How can I guarantee to be one of the first to come up in a search engine? Any computer buffs out there who can help?

Marcus Malabad
Marcus Malabad  Identity Verified
Canada
German to English
+ ...
Jul 7, 2001

Sonia,

The most essential thing to do if you want your Web site to appear in the first five results of a search engine is KEYWORD (or even the first result). The title of your site (in the HTML body) should be what you think your potential client will type into the search window. For example, client X is looking for an English translation of a German text. You\'d assume he or she will type \"German\" and \"translation\" (or \"German translation\" or \"translation\" and \"Ger
... See more
Sonia,

The most essential thing to do if you want your Web site to appear in the first five results of a search engine is KEYWORD (or even the first result). The title of your site (in the HTML body) should be what you think your potential client will type into the search window. For example, client X is looking for an English translation of a German text. You\'d assume he or she will type \"German\" and \"translation\" (or \"German translation\" or \"translation\" and \"German to English\").

Figure out what that all-encompassing phrase could be that will cover most permutations of what you\'re offering. Then put that phrase right on top or near the top of the first page of your site.