Livia D'Amore  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 15:25
Member (2009)
German to Italian
+ ...
May 21, 2017

Good evening,
it there anyone who doesn't type translations but dictates them?
If so, which software do you use? Where can I find it and how much does it costs?
Thank you in advance

Mario Chavez (X)
Mario Chavez (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:25
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dictation software: Dragon NaturalSpeaking v 12 or v 13 May 21, 2017

Livia D'Amore wrote:

Good evening,
If so, which software do you use? Where can I find it and how much does it costs?
Thank you in advance

Hi, Livia,

I've been using dictation software (Dragon NS) for a few years mostly for transcriptions: I read the source text (Spanish) to translate it later (English). I've done it the other way around.

It cost me about 140 dollars to buy the premium version (English and Spanish). I am assuming they have your languages, but the newest version cost above 200 dollars.

Cheers!

Livia D'Amore
Italy
Member (2009)
German to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you May 22, 2017

Thanks a lot for you suggestion. There is also a version for Italian....I think I'll buy it. Thank you again.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:25
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Mac solution May 22, 2017

Livia D'Amore wrote:

Good evening,
Thank you in advance

I use Mac dictation all the time. It costs nothing. It's incorporated into the MacOS (and for that reason, unlike third-party applications, it is very precisely interfaced with the other parts of the operating system). I have been told it works better than Dragon (which I've never tried). It covers dozens of different languages. The important thing is to have a good-quality microphone. It gets better and better the more you use it. I mainly use it in English and Italian.

[Edited at 2017-05-22 07:03 GMT]

Livia D'Amore
Italy
Member (2009)
German to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Great May 22, 2017