Thread poster: Melissa Reed (X)
Melissa Reed (X)
Melissa Reed (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:38
English
+ ...
Feb 2, 2022

I am a new editor and proofreader working in Germany. I have two major clients, both European professors in my former academic field in the US. This is not my primary profession, but I'd like to continue with these clients and others in the same area of research since I'm so familiar with the literature.

I recently had another client approach me about editing her novel--a pleasure project. I offered a one-hour web call about any questions within 7 days of me sending the product as
... See more
I am a new editor and proofreader working in Germany. I have two major clients, both European professors in my former academic field in the US. This is not my primary profession, but I'd like to continue with these clients and others in the same area of research since I'm so familiar with the literature.

I recently had another client approach me about editing her novel--a pleasure project. I offered a one-hour web call about any questions within 7 days of me sending the product as part of my rate. She is countering with an open-ended revision process where she can always ask me questions, as she doesn't want any time pressure.

Am I out of line in my proposal? I'm curious to hear what more experienced editors offer as far as their deliverable besides the final proof.
Collapse

Adieu
Adieu  Identity Verified
Ukrainian to English
+ ...
Bad newbie client Feb 3, 2022

I've had a couple of these over the years. You need to explain to them, in no uncertain terms, that outside of some reasonable window (like your proposed 1-hour consultation), further requests start running the clock for further compensation.