Thread poster: Heather Alejandro (X)
Heather Alejandro (X)
Heather Alejandro (X)
United States
Local time: 05:35
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 15, 2022

Hello, fellow translators. I am new to this industry and am wondering how most freelancers prefer to be paid. This topic has not come up in any of the courses I am taking towards earning my professional translation and interpretation certificate. Do most translators prefer PayPal? Cashier's check? Something else? Is there any method I should avoid? I am based in the USA. Thank you.

Jean Lachaud
Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:35
English to French
+ ...
Your choice Feb 15, 2022

In the USA, check is the best mode of payment, since checks are in widespread use (Note to European translators: that is the way it is in the USA, live with it), and cashing them is free.

Paypal takes up about 7% of the amount paid. I accept it only when everything else has failed.

Zelle and Venmo are (still) free for the payee (that may or may not last forever). However, these two systems are commonly used by private customers.

In the USA, most corporate c
... See more
In the USA, check is the best mode of payment, since checks are in widespread use (Note to European translators: that is the way it is in the USA, live with it), and cashing them is free.

Paypal takes up about 7% of the amount paid. I accept it only when everything else has failed.

Zelle and Venmo are (still) free for the payee (that may or may not last forever). However, these two systems are commonly used by private customers.

In the USA, most corporate customers pay by check, usually at the end of the month following the invoice month (IOW, an invoice dated January 1 is paid at the end of February), sometimes 2, or even 3 months later (I have had to wait more than 3 years).

For non-corporate customers (divorce judgments, transcripts and diplomas, vital records), I require payment in advance.

J L
Collapse

Ying-Ju Fang
Jorge Payan