Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
Is it really so necessary to have Trados?
Thread poster: Alex Dall'Asta
Alex Dall'Asta
Alex Dall'Asta  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 22:11
English to Italian
+ ...
Nov 17, 2021

Hi everbody, I have been a full-time translator for 3 years now and have managed to dodge Trados, but several agencies seem to require its use. How necessary do you think it is today?

Gola Kate

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:11
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Not Nov 17, 2021

Alex Dall'Asta wrote:

Hi everbody, I have been a full-time translator for 3 years now and have managed to dodge Trados, but several agencies seem to require its use. How necessary do you think it is today?

I turn down work for anyone who specifies it as a requrement. I use a different CAT tool. So my opinion Trados isn't necessary.

P.L.F. Persio
Nikita Kobrin
Cetacea
Thomas T. Frost
Philip Lees
Gabriele Foy
Goumiri Abdennour

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Danish to English
+ ...
No Nov 17, 2021

Most outsourcers that 'require' Trados actually just need us to be able to handle the common Trados formats (sdlppx, sdlxliff, etc.), and many CAT tools do that.

A few do need Trados for a specific purpose, but I don't have time to accept everything I'm offered anyway, so I can just ignore those and focus on what I can do with memoQ, just as I turn down everything that requires use of various 'exotic' online tools, except for Memsource.

I don't like Trados, so it wouldn
... See more
Most outsourcers that 'require' Trados actually just need us to be able to handle the common Trados formats (sdlppx, sdlxliff, etc.), and many CAT tools do that.

A few do need Trados for a specific purpose, but I don't have time to accept everything I'm offered anyway, so I can just ignore those and focus on what I can do with memoQ, just as I turn down everything that requires use of various 'exotic' online tools, except for Memsource.